Your Roku account allows you to add or purchase channels from the Roku Channel Store. By linking Roku® streaming devices to your Roku account you enable those devices to download and install any, or all, of the channels you have added or purchased. If you intend to return, sell or give away your Roku device you should perform a factory reset before doing so.
If you no longer have access to your Roku device, you can remove or “unlink” it from your Roku account.
Unlinking a device does not close your Roku account or cancel any Roku billed subscriptions you may have. It only removes that device from your account. For example, you can unlink one Roku device from your account and link another and your channels and purchases will be available on the new device as long as they are compatible with that device.
How do I unlink a device from my account?
- Go to my.roku.com on your computer or smartphone.
- If you are not already logged in, sign in to your Roku account.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the My account page and locate the device under the “My linked devices” section.
- Select Unlink and confirm.
Get help signing into your Roku account if you have forgotten your password or no longer have access to your email address.
Last updated at 6/18/2026 6:37:06 PM
Was this article helpful?
Related articles
Your Roku account stores which Roku® streaming devices you own and which channels you have installed and purchased, as well as your
The payment method linked to your Roku account allows you to purchase subscriptions to popular channels, rent or buy movies and TV ®
Just like your smartphone has an “app store” for installing new applications, you can access the Roku Channel Store on your Roku ®
Need more help?
